Skip navigation

Certificate IV in Aeroskills (Mechanical)

Code: MEA40718

Certificate IV in Aeroskills (Mechanical)

Methods of delivery

Qualification level

Certificate IV

Training options

Apprenticeship / Traineeship
This qualification applies to employees of Civil Aviation Maintenance Organisations (AMOs) or to members of the Australian Defence Force (ADF) who perform scheduled inspections, fault diagnosis and repair, and modification of airframes and airframe mechanical, hydraulic and pneumatic systems and components and of aircraft engines and (where applicable) propellers.
The qualification applies to either aircraft maintenance performed on flight lines/ramps and in hangars, or to airframe and engine component repair and overhaul performed in workshops. These outcomes are defined in two streams:
- aircraft maintenance stream
- component maintenance workshop stream.
The qualification consists of:
- common units that apply to all Aeroskills specialist streams at AQF Certificate III and IV levels
- mechanical and structures technical stream units relating to airframe and engine system and component maintenance
- mechanical technical stream units and a small number of avionic stream units that are applicable to the aircraft component maintenance workshop stream.
Because of the wide application of this qualification there is considerable flexibility in the selection of technical stream units and individuals should be mindful of their future career aspirations when selecting units for, in particular, the aircraft maintenance stream. Provided that the correct elective units are selected, the qualification articulates with the MEA50219 Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical), which qualifies individuals for the grant by Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) of a B1 Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence.
The qualification also provides credit towards the MEA50422 Diploma of Aviation Maintenance Management and the MEA60222 Advanced Diploma of Aviation Maintenance Management.